top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Esthers Instagram

Most Recent Blog Posts:

Search
  • Writer's pictureettadurrant

An emotional monent





Day 20 (4th August) Kuggar(Lizard) to Lands End and then St Ives. Miles cycled 59.9, metres climbed 1230.


The day after the lizard was emotional for so many reasons. Leaving the B&B with a bit of trepidation as it seemed like a long stretch to be covering...however I had been assured that it was not that bad, especially as I was going down bigger and more direct routes (thanks Dad for your invaluable route planning😀)

The ride in to Lands End was to go directly to Penzance and then the idea was to go straight on the main road but i decided to divert and follow a bit of my own route and a bit of a cycle route....so that would be straight up and down into Mousehole 😭. Despite that hill it was a lovely ride and was pleased I had taken the little extra time to do that bit of the journey. However as I got nearer Lands End, I got a lump in the throat an the tears started swelling in the eyes. It really took me by surprise. I think I had this reaction for two reasons.....the first being it felt like a real sense of achievement. I had cycled the whole way across the country and at its widest part.😃👍

The second reason - it brought back loads of memories from standing there many years ago waiting to start LeJog. The nerves were undeniable and I really wasn't sure if I could achieve the ride over the next 12 days. Cycle to John O Groats. What a mad idea! I had never done anything on that scale before.

That ride will continue to be one of my biggest achievements and hold so many memories that are important to me. It is the bar that I now set everything against. Well if i can cycle to Scotland, I can cycle/do this etc.

So there I found myself, at Lands End suddenly having a realisation that I was about to do it all again, but on a different route and as part of my new adventure. I miss having a group to cycle with. The guys on that ride definitely got me through a tough day or two and definitely helped make the trip what it was.


As I made my way into Lands End I was met by a family who had finished the ride the day before. Talk about inspirational, they had cycled down from John O Groats in just under 20 days, using national cycle routes. This makes it slightly longer but also slightly more interesting. The Dad pulled a trailer so the boys could ride pannier free, a new version of supported riding. I was glad to hear that I was not the only one having interesting moments on the ncn network apparently they also had times riding on inappropriate ground and finding gates and Stiles blocking the way. No mean feat to get round with a trailor. Adventurous moments that they will remember for many years to come i'm sure.

It was great to chat to them and they helped me take the obligatory photo.


A young lad had also just finished riding with his Dad. He looked ready to start all over again. He clearly enjoyed the experience - a cyclist in the making.

Seeing them made me think about how I will feel to finish. The first time I have really thought about achieving my goal and how it wil feel riding back into London. Although obviously that is still a way off.



After a cornish pasty to keep up the energy levels, it was back on the bike and onto St Ives. On what is known as one of the nicest cyclist routes in Cornwall. It was beautiful, the hills helped make me slow, but stoping for photos didn't help.




I knew accomodation that night was going to be basic, I thought I had prepared myself, but I hadn't. The dormitory accomodation was mattresses on the floor. The room boiling in the day but chilled down at night.... I have posted the picture and had many comments but actually was an okay night and made me think about what I did have. Even a mattress on the floor is much better than some people, I had a warm shower, change of clothes, food and a kitchen to prepare it in . The people in the hostel were friendly and I had a good couple of chats. A very humbling and thought provoking experience.


Day 21 (5th August) St Ives to Watergate BayBay. Saturday in lodge. Miles Cycled 41.54, metres climbed 949m


My main thoughts for today were around the Cornish mist. It is such a weird experience to be cycling in brilliant sunlight and then to be engulfed by the mist. As I was making my way round the coast the mist followed. I arrived at Portreath as they closed the beach due to the dangers of not being able to see people. There were some not very happy people about.




The hills are pretty terrifying in the mist, as it is not obvious how much people can see or not, the mist comes in quickly and therefore conditions are very interchangeable. I am really glad I put my waterproof covers on the panniers, making myself as bright as possible seemed like a good idea at this time. Some cars and cyclists were definitely tough to see.

Although the mist made for interesting riding conditions, the way it formed round the coast and hills was breath taking. The funniest thing I think I saw was the determination of holiday makers, sitting on a crowded beach, determined to enjoy the holiday but sitting in so much mist they couldn't see each other let alone the sea😀🤣😀




By the time I had reached Newquay it was a bright sunny day and as I was doing well according to time, I enjoyed a lovely walk and lunch on Pentire Head before cycling on to Watergate bay.


Day 22 (August 6th) Watergate Bay to Bude, stayed in Northshore hostel. Miles cycled 52.71, metres climbed 1207.


I found today tough for a number of reasons. It probably didn't help that I left the hostel having had no breakfast and cycled straight to Padstow, where the plan was to pick up the Camel trail, (I love cycling on the trails like this, so many people out enjoying cycling in safe environment). However before continuing breakfast was required, I was starving and treated myself to a large Breakfast bap from a local cafe. It was great and definitely filled up the knawing hole in my stomach.



Off I went down the Camel trail, the most enjoyable part of riding today and it brought back many memories- from taking kids there for work and riding it with the family. However I arrived in Wadebridge all to quickly and this meant time to head over to North Cornwall and potential hills at just about every bay possible. I had decided to head out towards Polzeath and follow the road through to Delabole and then onto the main A39. The difficulty being that it is not always as close to the coast as I would like, but it's so time consuming and confusing on the little country lanes, not to mention you can get into places but then have to leave on the same roads. I have decided to avoid Boscastle due to it alway being ridiculously busy at the best of times. Trying to cycle that hill with all those people around would not have been fun. I love Crackington Haven, so decided to go via there and Widemouth Bay to have a little scenery for the day. Crackington Haven is a lovely small bay that I don't remember being at the bottom of a very large and steep hill, but soon discovered that apparently it is. It was great to be back there and after another very tasty pasty, and a little reminiscing it was time to head back out the bay (up the hill) and onto the next one.



I was following the NCN 3 so thought this would not be to bad.......what??? is all i can say. I seemed to be heading straight down a massive descent of 30% . That is not fun with panniers and reminded me I really needed to get my brakes checked. The views were stunning but the descent and ascent unbelievable.....after all i'm not trying out for the tour de France. To be honest the hill back up was too much in the heat and I did get off and push at the steepest part. I was grateful that we didn't have to go all the way down into widemouth bay and that the rest of the riding wasnt so steep. I arrived at northshore ready for a rest and relax. Its a great hostel with lots of space and I had a relaxing evening chatting to another guest, who reminded me again, there is more than one way to do life and there are possible ways to get a balance between work, rest and play.




Day 23 (August 7th) Bude to Barnstable and then inland to stay with old Uni friends. Miles cycled 48.5, metres climbed 871

Today was an wasy riding day and I was grateful to it, I left in good time after a lovely nights sleep and breakfast and felt ready to tackle the day. I was going to see old friends at the end of the day and this was a good incentive to get moving.

After going straight down theA39 to Bideford (not much to say about that really - apart from it was a fast road and I probaly annoyed a driver or two being on it). I joined the Tarka trail and rode on this into Barnstaple. I had been told about a bike repair place on the route and although Im not sure I stopped at the right one, I found a place that would take a quick look at my bike for a reasonable price, All that wasneeded were afew adjustments to the gears and brakes. It was a lovely spot to stop at, so I indulged in a americano and then my lunch before heading back on the trail. Lovely to see so many families out enjoying themselves on bikes



Once at Barnstaple it was time to head inland into the country. I was originally quite impressed by my navigational skills, but then had to concede defeat and ring for directions( i would still be looking for them if left to my own devises). To be fair I am not surprised I couldnt find them. Beautifully tucked away in the quietness of the Devonshire country. It was a great evening and fab to see Sarah and Andy again after so much time. Hopefully it wont be so long before I see them again. Thanks guys for putting me up on such a busy day for you.






117 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Its been a year!!!

Well I cant quite believe I am writing this, Its a year to the day that I arrived home from one of the most amazing experiences that I...

Nearly Home

I know that this is a big jump from the last post where i am still in Scotland but I will actually be cycling into London in Two days....

Comentários


bottom of page