top of page

Most Recent Blog Posts:

Search
  • Writer's pictureettadurrant

My last day

28th October - Leigh on sea to Crofton Park, London

Miles 60.91 ; metres climbed 461


I know this day actually took place over a week ago but I have been delaying writing it. There are reasons for this and I will go into them on another post but for now i just want to focus on the actual day.


Elaine and Steve had looked after me so well the night before, they had really thought about what i would need and made me feel very at home. I loved being with them that last night. i must admit i didn't sleep brilliantly. This was nothing to do with the location but more the anticipation of the next day. I had really mixed feelings about it, it would be great getting home and seeing everyone but I knew the day would be hard, the route was not very exciting and it was the end of my adventure.



Setting me up for my last day. Thanks Elaine and Steve


I had plenty of time in the morning to collect my thoughts and have a cuppa or two before setting off thanks to the clock change. Elaine made sure I had plenty for breakfast - I couldn't have asked for more , A full on cooked breakfast and packed lunch and snacks to see me through the day. All this on what was already a busy Day for them. Thanks Guys.


I was a little emotional on getting ready to leave and could have done without the rain, but it did seem fitting to be experiencing the rain that one last time. It did make me grateful for the fact that i was going to be in earlier in the month than expected as it was cold rain.


Still I had to set off or I really would never make it back at a sensible time. I had purposefully decided not to go to Leigh-on-Sea on my way in last night as I wanted a nice stretch of coast before heading in along the Thames. I did like Leigh-on-sea with its little shops and restaurants and cockle sheds. Unfortunately due to the rain I didn't get good photos - maybe that just an excuse to head back again.


I had two choices of directions to take from there and as normal taking the one nearer the coast proved entertaining - It was one of those off road moments , that my bike is made for but slows me down and is interesting when loaded. I probably could have done without the rain at this time - it wasn't making it any easier. The track - it really was a track was mainly a little stony but often turned to grass or mud ruts. I got a couple of interesting stares and not just from the cows who were grazing in the area. I understood them when i reached the gates and had to stand my bike on end to get it through - workout time... never mind the mud etc


I remember thinking why on my last day did this have to happen but then on reflection a couple of minutes later made me smile, grateful to have the experience one last time, I love bike tracks that really are Tracks and not road. What makes me smile more is they always start off tarmac and just disintegrate after a while. I know I could have planned and plotted the route better, but these little experiences have also made my Journey what it was.


!

Next it was Canvey Island - was I really prepared for it - no but it could have been worse. it was actually really busy with cars and this made it more difficult to cycle round, it was still raining and I can honestly say that It is one of the areas i have felt least comfortable and therefore decided not to stick around. A quick comfort break was required however and i was genuinely worried re leaving the bike outside the Public toilets. I was pleased to say it was still there when i got back outside but was definitely being looked at people. I like to think they were interested in what I was doing rather than just the bike itself. 😊


Needless to say progress had be slow and I still had a long way to go and navigate along the Thames, or rather along the towns and areas along the Thames. I knew I was in for busy roads and already was getting that busy vibe of a more built up area. I was beginning to panic a little, time was ticking and I was still deep in Essex, I seemed to be constantly cycling but not feeling like i was getting anywhere. The constant checking of direction and going wrong on occasions slowing me down was not helping, I seemed to have lost all confidence in my navigating skills and stopped listening to that inner voice telling me when something felt wrong. Time for a pep talk to remind me to just enjoy the cycling.


You can imagine how impressed I was therefore to find out one of the roads I wanted to go down had a road closure due to rail works. I dutifully followed the diversion to find myself back where i started ......not helpful. The second time it tried to put me on a massive road...which was never going to work, especially as I didn't have any idea when i would be able to get off it again. So back to the road works to see if i could find another way round. It was then I realised they were letting pedestrians cross, so thought this may be an option. It was but basically the rails were all up, there was no level ground between and therefore i had to carry the bike and try not to lose my own footing. Easy I hear you say - especially with so many men standing around discussing what they were doing and watching me struggle. Eventually one kind gentleman came over to help but not before I had dug my gears into my leg and bumped my ankles with the pedals. Oh well whats a few more bruises to finish off with?


I was gradually getting closer to London but it still seemed a long way off, i knew people were waiting for me and i was beginning to think i wouldn't make it in that evening - never mind at the correct time, The level of panic was rising and this was not helping with the ride in general. It was time to stop take stock and have some food ( so grateful for my pack lunch). Often that feeling comes when I need more energy.


I felt much better after a bit of food and a little talking to - I could only go as fast as the roads would allow and there was nothing i could do re being late. It was my last day and I needed to enjoy. I eventually picked up the Super highway and this made all the difference. There were signs to follow (okay occasionally they could be better) but i was able to pick up a little more speed and see the mileage begin to gradually count down. The highway is along a busy road so not so scenic but i didn't really mind, it meant i was getting nearer to London and home. I followed the highway right down into the Isle of Dogs to the Greenwich foot Tunnel and my route back south of the river. I had been joking with people about the elevators not working and how this would be fine going down but not so good if shut on the south side and the way up. Of course the south side elevators were not working. i decided to go for it anyway. I was nearly at the end and no matter how hard I could carry the bike up. it may take me a while but i would manage it somehow.


And i did - well when i say i did I was actually rescued by another Cyclist who rapidly became my hero and suggested swapping bikes. i thought he was joking initially and carried on but someone walking down agreed that we should and he reaffirmed the offer. How could i refuse?? So i got to carry a nice light bike up whilst my 'hero' got to carry my heavy impossible to move bike up - which he just hoisted up on his shoulder (i mean how??? - it was still fully loaded) and walked up the remaining steps - making it look ridiculously easy.



My Hero - David


After a quick chat and obligatory photo with 'my hero' who was called David by the way. It was time to set off for the shortish ride back to my sisters and the final few miles. My emotions had bee very close to the surface all day and a couple of times the thought of finishing had caused me to well up. These last few miles would be tricky if I couldn't keep hold of the emotions, especially as it was getting dark. I did have to stop at one point to collect myself.


As i turned into the top of road ( only 45 minutes late) a feeling of disbelief swept through me.... I had cycled round the British mainland. Wow what an accomplishment !! How many miles I had completed i didn't know but I did know I had cycled round the coast of England, Wales and Scotland and that my friends and family were just down the road to welcome me in and what a welcome it was. Yes, I did shed a tear or two and feel completely overwhelmed but it was great to see everyone and we may have shared a little glass of prosecco or two.


Im home









22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Its been a year!!!

Well I cant quite believe I am writing this, Its a year to the day that I arrived home from one of the most amazing experiences that I...

Nearly Home

I know that this is a big jump from the last post where i am still in Scotland but I will actually be cycling into London in Two days....

Comments


bottom of page