top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Esthers Instagram

Most Recent Blog Posts:

Search
  • Writer's pictureettadurrant

Back into England

Updated: Sep 10, 2018

The eagle eyed among you, will notice that Day is about to be repeated but with different details......yes I have managed to number my days incorrectly. So great at maths. I will go back and change the others but for now am just having two day 34s


Day 34 (23rd August) Rhyl to Liverpool

Miles cycled 64.4,metres climbed 269

https://www.strava.com/activities/1793086464/shareable_images/map_based?hl=en-US&v=1536565601&utm_source=com.whatsapp&utm_medium=referral




This was a great day for numerous reasons. Firstly due to the amusing start, I set off from my warm showers host Joe, who had kindly looked and helped me sort out my gears the day before. I was Heading to the bike shop, for a little tweak on the brakes only to be confronted by a herd of cows on my path, by one of the gates. They are quite large and daunting when all bunched together, so it was with trepidation I went through and shut the gate behind me.. ...leaving no way forward but through the cows. Not being a cow herder I was unsure of the best way forward.....but forward I had to go, so talking very nicely to them and inching my way forward they gradually got the idea and moved slightly to give me a bit of passage.....being surrounded by cows was not my favourite place. I wish I had managed to get a photo but I didn't want to delay getting through them. Having passed a few one decided it liked the smell//taste of my pannier and kept following me trying to nibble at one pocket. Then as if 1 wasn't bad enough, he invited a couple of friends to join in....at this point not only am I trying to steer/walk my bike round cows but hold it up from the cows pushing behind.....as soon as I could get enough space I jumped on bike and cycled off, being followed by one or 2. Just hoping I could get through the next gate before they caught up with me again. It was quite a start to the morning!!!!

Anyway having survived the cows and reached the bike shop. It was time to set off on the main part of the day.

The second reason for my great day, was I was due to have company. A colleague's husband was going to meet and cycle with me for a bit. So after a few miles cycling along the coastline I met up with Martin, I was momentarily wondering how we would recognise each other but then guess I do stand out a little bit from the crowd at the moment.

As Martin is local I relied on his knowledge and was grateful he had planned the route, so again this meant no navigation for me today - thanks it's always nice break when I don't have to do that. Was a good job too as I hadn't even looked at the map, seeming to have run out of time again the night before, I was just going to wing it - I find I do that quite a lot. To be fair though I had spoken to a couple of people and so had a vague idea of where I should be heading.

I really enjoyed cycling with Martin it was easy conversation and great to have the company I love learning about what he does and found it really inspirational. I love it when you find people that have similar thoughts and ideas as you and what can be more important than children and play. Ok so we may have spent some time talking cycling. Martin is training for his third Iron Man. I'm super impressed and it is making me think about what my next challenge could be - maybe I should finish this one first😄.

We tapped away at those miles, I'm sure a lot slower than than he is used to riding. I almost missed the fact I cycled straight back into England over the Welsh border - the third reason why it was a pretty momentous day.


I can't believe it I have completed a whole country.



Welsh / English Border



My cycling companion Martin and I

We turned round to get a couple of photographs- I was really excited and blown away to think that I had managed to cycle this far and it was great to have somebody with me to witness it. Still that was not the end of the day so it was back on the bikes and pushing onwards. Martin stayed with me all the way through to Birkenhead where he carried on and returned home (probably a lot quicker than it would have taken with me) and I set about getting the 'ferry across the Mersey' to Liverpool. Where it started to rain as soon as I got on the boat and continued till I got into the warm showers place I was staying at that night.




Another reason for a great day. What an amazing welcome I received from Naomi. A relaxing bath, some food and then off to hear someone speak on pyschology and spirituality. Cant say I completely agreed with everything he said but it was really interesting.....although I was struggling by the time we left, just through being tired.

More food and some great conversation later, it was time to crash out for the night. Oh did I forget to mention the chocolate wine.


Day 35 (August 24th) Liverpool to Preston

Miles cycled 46.6 metres climbed 261m


So I woke up this morning to the sound of the rain. Not great and difficult to make myself get a move on and get ready. So although up early I managed to delay my leaving by quite some time. Thankfully Naomi and family were very happy to let me hang around for a bit.......well they said they were😂. I eventually decided it was time to make a move regardless of the weather, so getting on the wet weather gear, I set off, just as the rain started to ease.....It was nice to go back through the city centre and see it out if the rain. I couldn't quite say in the sunshine as It was threatening to rain again.



I didn't hang around for long, wanting to try and get in before the rain caught me to much. I can honestly say that cycling out of Liverpool was not fun. To be fair I don't think that was anything to do with Liverpool but more to do with cities in general. I left not on the port road but one close to it and the lorries kept thundering past. I thought there may have been a cycle path that could give respite, so having fought my way through the wind down to it, I discovered it completely covered in Sand. Looking down at my chain and gears, I noticed they were beginning to pick up a small covering of sand and decided the best thing to do was head back to the main and busy road. I did take the opportunity to stop and look at the statues of people on the beach however.



I found a different small diversion to go down which took me on a quieter road for a while, through Great Crosby and Little Crosby, 2 little towns. I decided not to stop to look around, as I had left late and was worried re timings, but to carry on and headed back onto the road and eventually joined a cycle route that took me along the sea front at Southport. I was playing tag with two other cyclists along this road, they clearly knew the path and the bits to avoid - where as I ended up on a track, getting a little muddy - just what I was trying to avoid.

Still I passed them again and took pleasure in the bemused looks on their faces as they couldn't figure out where they had passed me. Still the cycle path rejoined the main road and literally followed it all the way into Preston, my stop for the night. I had beaten the Rain and got to the Air B& B at a good time.

I loved Staying with Barbara, her house was calm and peaceful and in many ways i just felt like being at home. She was incredibly welcoming and I loved spending time with her that evening.


Day 36 (August 25th) Preston to Lancaster

Miles 63.8 meters climbed 255

What an excellent start to the morning, after a good nights sleep, I woke to the sun shining and some time to myself to have some quiet time. It was good to be able to spend time reflecting on the past few days and reading a few passages.

Breakfast was made all the more enjoyable with a phone call from my friend Grusche. It was great to hear from her, have a bit of a catch up and a general reminder of the fact that life is continuing for others even though I may not be there at the minute.

I started my journey going through Preston, again on busy roads, but some did have cycle paths down the side, so it wasn't too bad, once away from Preston center. It was back down the other side of the Ribble estuary and onto Lytham and Lytham St Annes, both of which were nice little places and i stopped by the toilets and spoke to two lovely ladies. 1 was heading to a beer festival the next day - was quite tempted to do a little divert (well to be honest it was on route - but would mean and extra nights stop somewhere - cant drink and cycle)


Lytham windmill

I seemed to be extra hungry today (this may have been something to do with the massive headwind) and stopped for something to eat, that turned into a second breakfast/early lunch, the cafe was fairly busy and I was glad to say I had the excellent company of some feathery friends - who seemed to think they had been invited to help me.

Once refueled it was time to get moving again towards the glitzy bright lights of Blackpool. I had completely forgotten how many piers they have - answers on a postcard - oh okay, you can just comment on the blog. It really is a children's playground, full of lights, expensive rides and tackiness - what is not to Love?

Well in my case it was the head wind and the number of people, not to mention the tram tracks and some of you will know how much my bike and I love those.

Blackpool did just seem to go on forever and unfortunately , that means so did the headwind. I felt like i spent half my day cycling through the town, however I did eventually emerge out the other side and continued on the cycle path up round the coast. This meant continuing into that head wind, i was literally willing the coast line to move, so i would get to turn round a corner and have a little respite. This eventually happened in the Fleetwood area and I caught the little ferry over to Knott end, causing the normal havoc in getting the bike on and not rolling around due to its weight. Lowry used to sketch the ferry and its passengers in the 40's and 50's from Knott end and it is the inspiration for one of his paintings. There is now a monument to him there.



Lowry monument

The ride from Knott end was a lot more relaxed, down country lanes and a complete contrast to the whole stretch of sea side resorts i had just ridden through. The plan that night was stay with a friends parents just outside Lancaster. Despite the head wind i was doing well for time so after heading down towards Lancaster, I diverted off round the headland to Overton and then Morecombe.


Morecombe Pier

On arriving at Morecombe, I treated myself to an icecream whilst watching the award ceremony of the National Youth cycling event that had been taking place there that day.

As i made my back to Lancaster, I encountered a running event, which held me up for a few moments, as i stopped to cheer them on, before quickly cycling down their return route before any of them could show me up by being able to cycle there quicker.

I had an amazing evening with Claire's parents. they looked after me so well and let me cause general chaos with a whole bag and pannier change.


Day 37 (August 26th) Lancaster to Barrow

Miles Cycled 58.57 , meters climbed 705 m


So it was a pretty slow start as the bag rejigging had to be finished (not to mention the fact that I think I ate them out of house and home for breakfast). Thanks for looking after me so well.

The fact that it was raining had absolutely nothing to do with my slow start - honest.

The new panniers were very timely however and being completely water proof will hopefully mean it is easier to sort everything after a wet and miserable day (they also don't hold water and therefore don't get any heavier - major plus point). If the weather forecast was to be believed they were definitely going to be put through it today. Yes it should have been and yes they were.


The route through to Barrow should have been fairly straight forward, this is a good thing as Navigation in the wet is more difficult, Phones tend to get wet if you get them out too often. There is a cycle route that goes this way however, so I made the decision to simply follow it. We all know how well i get on with cycle paths, but I must say that I was grateful to have it there today. It wouldn't be me if I followed it completely and I did manage to alter it at times to keep me closer to the coast and on a more direct path. Something that you want to be doing in the rain. In reality i know why they don't go the most direct route but sometimes it seems hard to get why they have made certain decisions. The moment I altered a bit of it and almost found myself on a dual carriage way, the reasons became fairly apparent. About turn and off i went back to the Path. Criss crossing the road and adding miles, but at least I was heading in the right direction.

I am sure you can all appreciate that constant wind and rain for a few hours does begin to have an impact on the way you feel, energy levels and enthusiasm. The day was getting tougher as it went on and the pain I was beginning to experience in my wrist was not helping. In fact it wasn't just a pain but the wrist was beginning to seize up and not actually work. I have worked hard at building up the strength in my wrists and they have not been really painful for some time, I have been pleased with how well they have been coping with being on the bike and this reminder of the accident was not really helping the will power I needed to keep going. After stopping and warming my hands a bit, they were responding better but it didn't take long before this deteriorated again. A distraction was needed, so instead of focusing on the unfairness of the accident and the impact it was still having, I made my mind up to think about the things i was Grateful for. These are only a few of the list that i made whilst cycling on.

1. It had stopped raining for 10 minutes at one point in the day, this had given me chance to warm just a little, but also seemed to make the day and the subsequent rain a little warmer.

2. The fact that i was able to be out there riding and having this adventure, so many people can't or don't get the opportunity

3. I have raised and will continue to raise money for a great charity and this will in turn help children and their families.

4. I had the amazing support and belief in me of my family and friends.

5. I had the provision of a warm shower in front of me and warm, clean, dry clothes to put on.

6. I was kept safe in horrendous riding conditions.

This list was repeated time and time again throughout the course of the day and with it my bravery grew, I don't mind cycling on most types of roads but had been concerned re the Dual carriage way bits of road due to the visibility etc. However after many hours in the rain, i was beginning to feel the need to shorten the remainder as much as possible. I decided to rejoin the main road and just hoped that all the Dual carriage ways bits had already been passed. They hadn't, but instead of turning round, I continued on the road, singing into the wind and rain. It wasn't exactly a pleasant experience but it wasn't as bad as i expected. The cars were all (well mostly) respectful and gave me room, the road moved from single to dual carriageway and back again a few times and I gradually began to appreciate being on the dual bit of road more as I actually felt safer and given more room. (who'd have thought it). That said i was pleased to see the cycle path appear as I neared Barrow and I was able to remove myself from all the traffic a little. The rain also stopped. So Grateful and Thankful.


I arrived at the Warm showers host a bit bedraggled, cold and wet. Tony was fab, not worrying about the wet, helping me get everything inside and the bike sorted. I was so grateful again for the kindness of strangers. The fact that I was able to have a warm shower, have somewhere to sleep and wash my sodden kit was amazing. Never mind, the dinner, conversation and introduction to the bike touring festival (one to plan in for next year). Thanks Tony for all that and your help with looking at route for the next couple days, it was really appreciated.


Day 38 (August 27th) Barrow to St Bees

Miles Cycled 55.9 , metres climbed 954


Firstly I just need to say - I love the fact that there is somewhere called St Bees. I have heard of it before but never been, so glad i get to go and Visit.


I didn't get a great nights sleep and woke feeling fairly shattered still after the rain the day before, I really wasn't feeling ready to set off on what was a Cold and windy looking morning. To be fair it still looked like the rain would be Joining me again. After a very filling breakfast of porridge and Berries (it was a large bowl of porridge and very yummy!!) and making up a packed Lunch (thanks again) Tony offered me a drive round Walney Island, which saved a bit of time cycling round it. It was great to see the Island and get the inside knowledge from someone who grew up there.



I would happily have spent the day in the car and not in the cold on the bike, but that is not the plan for this trip at least. So time to pack up the bike again and give the chain a little lubrication, to stop it from rusting and ensure that it is running smoothly - or as smoothly as it can. The chain is just disgusting - it needs a really good clean but a quick de-gunk will have to do.


I do find the days after a downpour particularly difficult and today was no different, I followed the main roads, I was originally thinking I would follow the coastal path as much as I could but it was gravelly and with the wet the day before I didn't really fancy it. It also makes for much slower progress and today I just needed to feel I was getting somewhere.


I was making fairly good progress but struggling a bit mentally. Sometimes the best thing to do at these times is just stop for a coffee. Originally it wasn't apparent where to stop but as i neared the top of a hill, i stopped to take photos and was enticed into the Inn there, with the promise of coffee. As often happens coffee turned into Coffee and a little treat of a scone, ( a cherry one, that came warm and was exactly what i needed at that moment). Talk about Comfort food.

I felt really rejuvenated when i left, not only through the conversation with many of the patrons of the Inn but also the owners. I decided that this would be my main stop of the day, so enjoyed my time there and didn't rush on. Everyone seemed happy to let me do so and if i am honest, it was hard to make myself leave. I love the support I received from people on the way and it comes in so many varieties, verbal affirmations and donations, of which I received both here.

The fact that there are so many estuaries on our coastline, does get a little annoying, as it means adding miles to the journey, however the plus side is that they also bring a different aspect to the riding and some beautiful scenery. I have always loved the Lake District to be cycling down the side of it was amazing, the scenery at times breathtaking and different to what we expect with the area. It did remind me of what a special place it is.



After stopping for a very late lunch - great to have the sandwiches with me. I headed on towards Ravenglass and the bike trail. The route was beautiful and very close to the coast - in fact i would have been cycling through the sea had the tide been in any more, but there was one part where you are on a walk way by the rail way and it is a very narrow bridge - walking room only (always great for a National cycling route). This eventually made me rejoin the road ( always love a little diversion), before diverting back onto route 72. Again I couldn't have been ,much nearer the sea. The path literally cuts along the back of the beach. This was beautiful but also meant that the path was a little challenging and covered in sand at points. This stretch therefore did slow me down a bit and took a lot of concentration on a loaded bike I can imagine its a great route when just riding for fun. Apparently it isn't always covered in sand, but just depends how the weather has been. As I got further along, the path had been washed away, so a little pushing and off roading was required.

This brought me to the edge of Sellafield, where I had to wait for a train to depart before I could continue my journey. It was an interesting place to see, it is clearly a big part of community and work life in the area and its closing will have a massive impact. I do hope that they manage to develop some projects etc to keep the workforce active.

I was nearly there but not quite and again began to struggle for the last bit, It was getting late and I have noticed if on the bike much later than 5, It feels hard. However I had enjoyed the island this morning and would have been later if I had cycled it.


St Bees

I eventually made it to St Bees at about 6:30 and to my Warm showers hosts. It was great to Meet Sarah and Christian and their two little ones. I loved chatting to them all and love the way they are doing life, the importance they put on family life and the values they hold. I only got to see a small fraction of it, but was inspired again to think about the different ways there are to approach things.


Day 39 (August 28th) St Bees to Carlisle

Miles Cycled 66.10, meters climbed 502


I had a great nights sleep - i think i was so shattered from the past few days- and woke up late. Whoops - guess I needed the sleep and sometimes it is better to listen to the body. After a real treat of a pancake for breakfast it was time to set off and I knew that a lot of today would be following the cycle track (well as much as I ever do fully). I headed out of St bees and was so busy taking in my surroundings I missed the turning and went straight up the hill, rather than round the Hill. Oh well a little wake up hill is never a bad thing and the scenery was lovely. However once I got to Whitehaven I found the cycle path, on the whole it was a good easy to follow path , that moved between designated cycling route and quietish roads. It made a very easy day of cycling, navigating round the towns made easier and less distracting by trying to find places on route. I was however a bit disappointed by the amount of Dog Muck that was all over the path. It just seemed unnecessary, especially as there were so many signs up re fining people for not being responsible. It still makes me laugh when pedestrians give you looks, when on the bike, as if to question why you are cycling on 'their route' , when actually you are on a designated cycling route. Okay sometimes this is shared space and we need to be aware of each other, but its not like there isn't plenty of space. I know not all cyclists think of the pedestrians - but I do! i always try to be polite, smile, say Hello and slow down for them. Most recognize this and are as equally thoughtful.

The wind was behind me and therefore the ride was lovely, I wouldn't say I was being pushed along but it was great not to have a head wind. I realised after a while that the land I could see on the other side of the water was Scotland. How exciting was that and really spurred me on.


Scotland in the distance.

I had planned to stop in the Silloth Area but on reaching the town and hitting the cobble - Why oh Why? do they not know how much I hate cobbles and how uncomfortable they are - especially when you are already suffering from being saddle sore - I wasn't really inspired or ready to stop. There are some very impressive buildings in the town but it looks like quite a poor and deprived area. Holiday season seemed to be in full swing though and many people were enjoying themselves.

I jumped (well maybe not jumped - but gently climbed) back on the bike and decided to head onto Solway, Its a beautiful area and held memories for me. After pushing on a little I realised my mistake and that I was actually quite hungry. It makes it quite difficult to cycle when you are hungry. I stopped at the The bush Inn, in Kirkbride , on the off chance that they were still open and doing food. What a great welcome, Although officially having finished, I was offered a Egg or bacon sandwich. It was a tough choice! armed with that and some coffee. It was great to chat to the bar staff and then the locals as they came in. It was great to see the way they all supported each other and helped each other out. There was a real sense of community in the Pub and they were all supportive and encouraging of my challenge.

Back on the road and into a headwind - well momentarily at least, until i turned the next big corner - it was onto Bowness on Solway. Seeing the sign really made me miss home and the family. The only other time I had been there, was when I walked the last section of Hadrians wall with Mum when she was completing her challenge. It felt kind of comforting to be back there in a place I recognised but also sad to be there on my own. There are not many times i have felt that on this trip, so far but occasionally I do get that pang of wishing someone was there to experience it with me.

The route through to Carlisle was down some of the same route i had walked with Mum. I was initially a little worried as I knew how long it had taken us, but it is faster on a bike - a lot faster it turns out. I couldn't believe how quickly the road and the familiar sights went past.

I was staying in the hostel right in the center of the town, so it was easy to find, near the cathedral and the nice coffee shop we visited last time we were there. Carlisle is becoming a popular destination for me when undertaking challenges, i stayed there when doing LeJog and when meeting and walking with Mum. This is the first time however i didn't stay in the same hotel - not that i meant to last time - just hadn't recognised it.




August 29th - Day off

Was very excited today to be meeting up with London Friends who were on holiday in Lake District. I had hoped for a lie in, but my body decided i didn't need one of those - why does that always happen. when you can lie in you wake up and when you need to be up , you feel like you can sleep for ever.

Having wondered down into town, to the bike shop to get some mud guards to fit later, I stopped for a coffee and then got the train to Oxenholme. It was fab to see Meng and Tom and spend a few hours doing the touristy thing visiting Sizergh Castle. Thanks for the fab days guys. I can't tell you what it meant to see you and have a chilled day with you. look forward to catching up when i'm back.



A quick wander through the cathedral on the way back to the hostel and then time to try and fit the mud guards. Yet again an easy job - did not go smoothly and in the end despite the help of the hostel owner and another guest, i was resigned to another visit to the bike shop in the morning.


Carlisle cathedral

I love being in hostels and sharing stories and experiences with other people. I was sharing a dorm room with a guy walking round the British coast in stages. Now theres a thought!! another challenge??

68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Its been a year!!!

Well I cant quite believe I am writing this, Its a year to the day that I arrived home from one of the most amazing experiences that I...

Nearly Home

I know that this is a big jump from the last post where i am still in Scotland but I will actually be cycling into London in Two days....

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page